D.C. will require visitors from coronavirus hot spots to self-quarantine for 14 days and the mayor says the city may “dial back” parts of phase two reopening if necessary.
Anyone traveling from "high-risk areas" for non-essential purposes must self-quarantine starting Monday, July 27, Mayor Muriel Bowser announced Friday. A list of those areas was not immediately released. Neither Maryland nor Virginia will be on the list, the mayor said.
The city will publish the list of areas every two weeks on coronavirus.dc.gov. High-risk areas are locations where the seven-day moving average of daily new cases of the virus is 10 or more per 100,000 people.
Violations are punishable with 90 days in jail or a $5,000 fine.
Bowser said the measures are necessary to prevent more D.C. residents from contracting the virus and dying. Additional restrictions may be necessary, depending on how the virus spreads and what the data shows.
“There are no guarantees in COVID,” Health Director Dr. LaQuandra Nesbitt said.
College students who arrive in D.C. from high-risk areas are among those who must self-quarantine for 14 days.
Anyone quarantining after non-essential travel must stay in their home or hotel room and leave only for essential medical appointments or to get food or essential goods.
D.C. residents are encouraged to only travel to places with low COVID-19 case counts, which affects vacations.
The order will be in effect through Oct. 9 and may be extended.
The city also released a list of “potential dial-backs” on reopening phase two. Rules for indoor dining, sports, personal services and elective procedures may become more strict. The 50-person limit on gatherings also could change.
No additional waivers will be issued for arts and entertainment.
Data released Friday morning shows an increase in community spread of the virus and another 78 cases. No additional deaths were announced. The death of a 24-year-old woman was announced earlier this week.
A spike in cases prompted Bowser to issue an order this week on face masks. Everyone over 2 years old must wear a mask when leaving home, with few exceptions. Here's more information.
Stay with NBC Washington for more details on this developing story.