Scaled-Down MLK Dedication Is Still Star-Studded

President Barack Obama, Rev. Jesse Jackson, Dan Rather and poet Nikki Giovanni are among the participants expected this weekend at the rescheduled dedication of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial.

Despite the fact that the rescheduling led to what organizers are calling a "scaled-back" ceremony, the lengthy list of speakers includes civil rights leaders, entertainers,members of the King family, D.C. Mayor Vincent Gray and PBS' Gwen Ifill as master of ceremonies.

The event will begin with a "Morning Joy" program from 8 to 9 a.m., emceed by Roland Martin. President Obama will deliver an address.

The ceremonial dedication will begin at 11 a.m. on Sunday, Oct. 16 in the forecourt of the memorial. Participants will include Aretha Franklin; Herman "Skip" Mason, general president of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity; and President Barack Obama.

The dedication is free and open to the public; planners are bracing for big crowds by airing the 11 a.m. portion of the program on jumbotrons in West Potomac Park.

Gates will open at 6 a.m. Members of the public can access West Potomac Park through four gates on Independence Avenue S.W.

See the complete list of notable guests below.

Morning Joy Participants:

  • Emcee Roland Martin
  • Dupont Diversity Choir
  • The Historic Ebenezer Baptist Church Choir
  • Kumar Das and Abhik Mukherjee
  • Shirley Murdock
  • Rabbi Israel Dresner
  • Dedication Choir

Dedication Program Participants:

  • Presentation of the Colors: Joint Service Color Guard
  • National Anthem: Nova Nelson
  • Master of Ceremonies Gwen Ifill
  • Reverend Joseph Ratliff (invocation)
  • District of Columbia Mayor Vincent Gray
  • Julian Bond
  • Christine King Farris
  • Martin Luther King, III
  • Bernice King
  • Mary Mary
  • Dan Rather
  • Reverend Joseph Lowery
  • Congressman John Lewis
  • Nikki Giovanni
  • Marian Wright Edelman
  • Ambassador Andrew Young
  • Miri Ben-Ari and PoemCees
  • Dan Akerson
  • Tommy Hilfiger
  • Amandla Stenberg
  • Dedication Choir
  • Reverend Jesse Jackson
  • Lee A. Saunders
  • Reverend Al Sharpton
  • Cicely Tyson
  • Sweet Honey in the Rock
  • Jennifer Holliday
  • Reverend Raphael Warnock (benediction)

Ceremonial Dedication Participants:

  • Herman "Skip" Mason
  • Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar
  • Aretha Franklin
  • Harry Johnson
  • President Barack Obama
Contact Us