Early Voting for the DC Primary Has Begun

A contested ballot initiative and a variety of candidates will be on the June 19 D.C. primary ballot.

Voters will choose their candidates for mayor, representatives to the U.S. legislature and members of the D.C. Council.

They also will vote yes or no on Initiative 77, which would raise the minimum wage for servers to $15 per hour by July 2025.

Ward 7 Council member Vincent Gray said Monday he would oppose Initiative 77. He joins a majority of Council members and Mayor Muriel Bowser, who have voiced opposition to the proposal.

Early voting in D.C. began Monday and will continue until June 15. Early voting polling stations will be open from 8:30 a.m. until 7 p.m.

On Election Day, polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m., and all voters in line by 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote. The location for each polling place can be found on the board’s website.

The last time to request an absentee ballot is June 12 at 4:45 p.m. The ballots must be received by the board by 8 p.m. on Election Day in order to be counted.

The board has posted sample ballots for voters in each ward on its website.

Contact Us