RAMMY Awards Honor D.C. Area Culinary Scene

Todd Gray named Chef of the Year

Telemundo San Antonio

Over the weekend some of the leaders in Washington's culinary scene took a break from serving up customers to pay tribute to the local talents in this region.

The Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington hosted its annual "RAMMY" Awards Saturday night. It recognizes restaurants, staff and owners in the local food industry.

Most of the winners are selected by an anonymous panel, but several were chosen by the voting public.

The 2011 RAMMY Winners:

Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year: The Source by Wolfgang Puck
Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year: The Tabard Inn
New Restaurant of the Year: Estadio
Chef of the Year: Todd Gray, Equinox/Todd’s Watershed
Pastry Chef of the Year: Tiffany MacIsaac, Neighborhood Restaurant Group
Rising Culinary Star: Kyle Bailey, Birch & Barley
Wine Program: Taberna del Alabardero
Beverage/Mixology Program: Founding Farmers
Restaurant Manager of the Year: Hans Olson, General Manager, Clyde’s Reston
Restaurant Employee of the Year: Ryme Lansari, server Cafe Atlantico/minibar by Jose Andres
Joan Hisaoka Associate Member: Ritz-Carlton

People's Choice Awards:

Neighborhood Gathering Place: Ted’s Bulletin
Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene: Chef Geoff’s Tyson Corner
Power Spot: Carmine’s
Public Favorite Restaurant: Carmine’s
WHERE MAGAZINE Visitors’ Choice Award: Old Ebbitt Grill

Contact Us