Bowser, Norton, Other Incumbents Win D.C. Democratic Primaries - NBC4 Washington
First Read
Your first stop for politics in D.C., Maryland and Virginia

Bowser, Norton, Other Incumbents Win D.C. Democratic Primaries



    Bowser Responds to Approval of Contentious Initiative 77

    News4's Jackie Bensen reports on the outcome of Tuesday's primary elections in Washington, D.C., where incumbents won back their seats and a controversial initiative on minimum wage passed. (Published Tuesday, June 19, 2018)

    D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser and House Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton easily won their Democratic primaries Tuesday, and several other incumbents also took their party's nominations.

    Neither incumbent faced much of a challenge and since Democrats usually take the general election in the District, both should win in November.

    It would be Bowser's second term. Norton, 81, has held her office since 1991.

    Incumbent D.C. Council Chairman Phil Mendelson faced stiffer competition from Ed Lazere, the longtime director of the D.C. Fiscal Policy Institute, a progressive think tank, but Mendelson still took 63 percent of the vote.

    DC Voters Head to the Polls

    [DC] DC Voters Head to the Polls

    D.C. voters will make their picks in council and other contests Tuesday and decide whether to gradually get rid of the alternate minimum wage for tipped workers.


    (Published Tuesday, June 19, 2018)

    Mendelson was first elected in 2012 to fill the term of Kwame Brown, then was re-elected in 2014.

    In four D.C. Council races, all incumbents won: Anita Bonds (at-large), Brianne Nadeau (Ward 1), Kenyan McDuffie (Ward 5) and Charles Allen (Ward 6).

    Voters also passed a measure to gradually raise the minimum wage for tipped workers to match the minimum wage for non-tipped workers.

    Watch NBC4 and get the latest news anytime, anywhere. Check here for TV listings.