Bryce Harper, Gio Gonzalez, Davey Johnson All Finalists For National League Awards - NBC4 Washington
Capital Games
Covering the biggest personalities in DMV sports

Bryce Harper, Gio Gonzalez, Davey Johnson All Finalists For National League Awards



    The Washington Nationals racked up the end-of-season award nominations Wednesday as Bryce Harper, Gio Gonzalez and Davey Johnson were all announced as finalists for three separate honors.

    Harper, along with Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Wade Miley and Cincinnati Reds infielder/outfielder Todd Frazier, is a finalist for the National League Rookie of the Year Award. 

    In his first full season, the 20-year-old arrived in late April and never left Washington, becoming one of the pillars of the team's lineup. Harper hit .270 while etching his name into the teenage record books in a variety of categories. He set an MLB record with 18 stolen bases, while finishing second all-time in home runs (22) and runs scored (98). The winner will be announced Monday at 6 p.m. on MLB Network.

    Meanwhile, Gonzalez is one of three finalists for the NL Cy Young Award. Gonzalez led all major-league pitchers with 21 wins and 199.1 innings in his first season with the Nationals. Either Gonzalez, the Mets' R.A. Dickey or the Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw will win the award Wednesday, Nov. 14.

    Finally, Johnson, who already earned the Sporting News' NL Manager of the Year Award, will try to add the Baseball Writers' Association of America's award to his collection. Johnson led the Nats to an MLB-high 98 wins, but will have to go up against San Francisco Giants skipper Bruce Bochy and Cincinnati Reds bench boss Dusty Baker. The winner will be unveiled Tuesday.

    Follow Adam on Twitter @AdamVingan and e-mail your story ideas to adamvingan (at)