NASA Remembers Columbia Crewmembers on 10th Anniversary of Disaster

NASA officials to hold an observance at Arlington National Cemetery

View Comments ()



    Getty Images
    Front (L-R): Rick D. Husband, mission commander; Kalpana Chawla, mission specialist; and William C. McCool, pilot. Standing (L-R): David M. Brown, Laurel B. Clark, and Michael P. Anderson, all mission specialists; and Ilan Ramon, payload specialist representing the Israeli Space Agency.

    Friday marks the 10th anniversary of the space shuttle Columbia disaster.

    NASA officials will hold an observance at the Columbia memorial at Arlington National Cemetery, and a wreath-laying ceremony will take place at the space mirror memorial at the Kennedy Space center in Florida.

    One Shuttle Moves In, Another Moves Out

    [DC] One Shuttle Moves In, Another Moves Out
    Final preparations are underway as the space shuttle Discovery moves into its final resting place in Chantilly, Va. News4's Erika Gonzalez details exactly how crews will prepare Discovery for its debut at the Smithsonian and how they're moving another shuttle out of the museum. (Published Saturday, Jan. 31, 2015)

    The remains of three members of crew -- David Brown, Laurel Blair Salton Clark, and Michael P. Anderson -- are interred at Arlington.

    The ceremonies will also remember astronauts Richard D. Husband, William C. McCool, Kalpana Chawla and Ilan Ramon.

    Their shuttle broke up upon re-entry to Earth's atmosphere on Feb. 1, 2003, killing all seven crewmembers aboard and scattering debris across Texas and into Louisiana.