'No More Excuses': Feds Replace 3 DC Metro Board Members - NBC4 Washington

'No More Excuses': Feds Replace 3 DC Metro Board Members



    New Board Members, Maintenance Address Metrorail Safety

    The government appointed three new Metro Board members with safety backgrounds, and the agency is conducting maintenance to figure why there have been so many problems on one stretch of the Red Line. Transportation reporter Adam Tuss explains. (Published Friday, April 29, 2016)

    U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx has stepped up his pressure on Washington's subway system by replacing three Metro board members and telling officials there would be "no more excuses'' regarding continued safety problems.

    Foxx announced the appointments of three new federal Metro Board members in a Thursday statement.

    Foxx says he has been frustrated by the 16-member board's delay in creating a new safety oversight office.

    The new members are former National Transportation Safety Board Vice Chairman Carol Carmody, former National Highway Traffic Safety Administration administrator David Strickland and Federal Railroad Administration Chief Safety Officer Robert Lauby.

    Red Line Trains to Share Track This Weekend

    [DC] Red Line Trains to Share Track This Weekend
    You may want to give yourself some extra time if you plan on using the Red Line this weekend. Metro is using its off-peak hours to do some track work. News4's Molette Green has more on this weekend's single-tracking.
    (Published Friday, April 29, 2016)

    Former Board Chair Mort Downey, planner Harriet Tregoning, and engineer Anthony Giancola are being replaced.

    The subway system was shut down for 29 hours last month for a system-wide inspection after an electrical fire.