Fenty Chosen as Honorary Inauguration Co-Chair

WASHINGTON -- The 2009 Presidential Inaugural Committee announced the selection of D.C. Mayor Adrian Fenty as one of the honorary inauguration co-chairs.
In order to maintain bipartisanship for the inauguration, the co-chairs come from the families of President-elect Barack Obama and Vice President-elect Joe Biden as well as both Democrats and Republicans.
"Vice President-elect Biden and I are grateful to these distinguished men and women for agreeing to serve as honorary co-chairs for the inauguration," Obama said.  "From family members to former presidents, each of these leaders has an unwavering commitment to bipartisan cooperation and a proud record of service to their community and our country. They exemplify the spirit of unity and shared purpose this Inauguration will reflect."
Joining Fenty as co-chairs are:
  • President George H. W. Bush
  • President William J. Clinton
  • Sen. Dick Durbin
  • Sen. Dick Lugar
  • Sen. Claire McCaskill
  • Rep. Tammy Baldwin
  • Rep. Artur Davis
  • Rep. Ray Lahood
  • Rep. Linda Sánchez
  • Gen. Colin Powell
  • Hunter and Kathleen Biden
  • Craig Robinson
  • Dr. Maya Soetoro-Ng
Contact Us