ANNAPOLIS, Md. -- Maryland's House of Delegates wants the state to be more like the rest of the country in at least one regard. Delegates approved a measure that would require drivers to signal before changing lanes.
Maryland is one of the few states that doesn't have such a law on the books.
The bill passed on a 107-26 vote. It would impose a $90 fine or a $130 penalty if the violation contributes to an accident.
A violation also would cause a point to be added to a driver's license. A driver could end up with three points on his or her license, if the violation contributes to an accident.
The bill now heads to the Senate.
Copyright AP - Associated Press