Van Hollen, Delaney, Brown, Raskin Win in Maryland

Rep. Chris Van Hollen will be elected to the U.S. Senate.

The Democrat won 62 percent of the vote. Del. Kathy Szeliga (R) took 35 percent. 

Van Hollen will fill the first open U.S. Senate seat in Maryland in 10 years.

Szeliga faced an uphill battle against the seven-term congressman in a state where Democrats outnumber Republicans 2 to 1.

Sen. Barbara Mikulski (D) will vacate the Senate seat in January. She has served in the Senate for 30 years and will retire at age 80.

This marks the first time in a decade that a Senate seat has been open in Maryland. In 2006, Sen. Ben Cardin (D) won the seat left open after Sen. Paul Sarbanes (D) retired.

After a competitive primary, Van Hollen, of Kensington, defeated Rep. Donna Edwards for the Democratic Senate nomination. He was a state delegate and a state senator before he was elected to the U.S. House in 2002. Democratic-led redistricting made the state’s 8th congressional district more competitive. Since 2011, he has served as the ranking Democrat on the House Budget Committee.

Szeliga has represented Baltimore and Harford counties in the House of Delegates since 2011. She has served as the House Minority Whip since 2013. Before joining the General Assembly, Szeliga ran a construction business. Gov. Larry Hogan endorsed her in the Senate race.

Congressional District 4
Former Lt. Gov Anthony Brown (D) has won the race for the 4th District seat.

Brown won 80 percent of the vote. Businessman George McDermott (R) won 16 percent.

Brown ran to fill the seat vacated by Donna Edwards, who lost in the primary race for the open U.S. Senate seat. Brown lost his race for governor in 2014.

The 4th District includes parts of Anne Arundel and Prince George's counties.

Congressional District 6
Rep. John Delaney (D) has prevailed over challenger Amie Hoeber (R).

Delaney won 55 percent of the vote. Hoeber won 41 percent of the vote.

Delaney was elected in 2012 and barely beat out Republican candidate Dan Bongino in his second run. Prior to serving in the House, Delaney was an entrepreneur. Hoeber is a former Deputy Under Secretary of the Army. Both candidates live in Potomac and dug into their own pockets to try to ensure victory.

The 6th District includes parts of Frederick and Montgomery counties.

Congressional District 8
State Sen. Jamie Raskin (D) has won his first term in Congress.

Raskin won 66 percent of the vote. Dan Cox (R) won 29 percent.

Raskin beat out eight other Democrats in the primary. The constitutional law professor at American University will replace Van Hollen.

The 8th District includes parts of Frederick and Montgomery counties.

State Ballot Measure 
Maryland voters approved a measure on whether political party affiliations should be preserved when people are appointed to fill vacancies in the offices of the attorney general and comptroller.

Seventy-three percent of voters supported the measure. Twenty-seven percent opposed it.

Montgomery County Ballot Measures
Montgomery County residents will determine if the county executive and members of the County Council should be limited to three terms, and if the county charter should " recognize that under state law the County Council may provide for a special election to fill a vacancy in the office of county executive."

Prince George's County Ballot Measures
Prince George's County residents approved measures to borrow money and issue bonds for as much as $60 million to upgrade library facilities, for as much as $66 million to upgrade public safety facilities and as much as $48 million to upgrade community college facilities.

Stay with News4 and for updates on this developing story.

Contact Us