Robert Griffin III Named NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year

SPOILER ALERT: Washington Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III was named Offensive Rookie of the Year during the NFL Honors Awards Show. That's according to New4's Dan Hellie, who is live in New Orleans on the eve of Super Bowl XLVII. The Redskins have confirmed it as well.

In his first season in Washington, RGIII led the Redskins back to relevancy as they won their first NFC East championship since 1999. Griffin threw for 3,200 yards, rushed for 815 more -- a league rookie record -- and scored 27 total touchdowns. He beat out Colts quarterback Andrew Luck and Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson for the honor.

You can catch the ceremony tonight at 9 p.m. on CBS.

Follow Adam on Twitter @AdamVingan and e-mail your story ideas to adamvingan (at)

Contact Us