When Is the French Open?

When is the French Open? originally appeared on NBC Sports Washington

Following a wild US Open tournament in New York, the French Open is set to take place in Paris at the Stade Roland Garros next week. After the men's singles No. 1-seed, Novak Djokovic, was disqualified for hitting a line judge in frustration, Dominic Thiem took full advantage with his first Grand Slam major and will look to continue the momentum on clay. Naomi Osaka overcame a slow start to defeat Victoria Azarenka in three sets on the women's side. 

In France, however, Rafael Nadal is the "King of Clay" and will be the favorite to extend his record number of titles and capture his 13th crown. Osaka's US Open title boosts her one spot in the women singles rankings at No. 2, only behind Simona Halep. Serena Williams stays in the top-10 at nine. 

Originally slated to be played May 24 to June 7, the coronavirus postponed the French Open to Sept. 21-Oct. 11. There will be a maximum of 5,000 fans for each of the two main courts, and 1,500 at another. 

Here's how you can catch all the action. 

French Open Information:

What: Last Grand Slam Tennis Tournament of 2020 - French Open

Where: Paris, France

When: Sept. 27 to Oct. 11

Last year’s champions: Rafael Nadal (men's), Ashleigh Barty (women's)

French Open TV Schedule

Monday, Sept. 21, First Round (NBC Sports & Tennis Channel)

Qualifying Rounds (Men's and Women's Singles): Monday, Sept. 21-Friday, Sept. 25

First Round (Men's and Women's Singles): Sunday, Sept. 27-Tuesday, Sept. 29

Second Round (Men's and Women's Singles): Wednesday, Sept. 30-Thursday, Oct. 1

Third Round (Men's and Women's Singles): Friday, Oct. 2-Saturday, Oct. 3

Fourth Round (Men's and Women's Singles): Sunday, Oct. 4-Monday, Oct. 5

Quarterfinals (Men's and Women's Singles): Tuesday, Oct. 6-Wednesday, Oct. 7

Semifinals (Men's and Women's Singles): Thursday, Oct. 8-Friday, Oct. 9

Women's Singles Final: Saturday, Oct. 10

Men's Singles Final: Sunday, Oct. 11

Notable players opting-out of French Open due to coronavirus

Men's: N/A*

Women's: Ashleigh Barty, Wang Qiang

*Roger Federer pulled out to recover from knee surgery

Copyright RSN
Contact Us