Anthony Kim Alters Driver, Gets DQ'ed at HSBC Champions

by Ryan Wilson

On Thursday, during the opening round of the HSBC Champions in Shangai, China, I noted that American Anthony Kim was in the field even though he had recently fallen off a horse, spraining his right ankle and bruising his jaw in the process. That he still managed to limp to the first tee box was a testament to his ... well, something.

Whatever, Kim won't have to concern himself with limping through four days of tournament golf; he's been disqualified for using an altered driver.

"I wasn't angry or anything, just walking down the fairway," Kim said. "The toe hit the sprinkler, hit the top of the sprinkler, and I looked at it and it looked a little bit different. But I wasn't sure and I put it in my bag."

At the eighth, he hit his first drive only 150 yards, and out of bounds. He then hit a second provisional shot - also poorly. He took a triple-bogey 8 on the hole and played two more before he found a rules official, who told him he must disqualify himself for playing with an altered club.

Anthony Kim Alters Driver, Gets DQ'ed at HSBC Champions originally appeared on Golf FanHouse on Sun, 09 Nov 2008 08:30:00 EST . Please see our terms for use of feeds.

Permalink | Email this | Linking Blogs | Comments

Copyright FANHO - FanHouse
Contact Us