Did Jose Theodore Pull a McNabb?

Caps lose on ricochet goal in shootout

021209-jose-theodore
Getty: Jim McIsaac/Staff

Caps Goalie Jose Theodore doesn't know all the rules, such as No. 25.2 which states, "No goal [in a shootout] can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal)" - via Capitals Insider.

The Capitals lost a tough game on Wednesday, 5-4 to the NY Rangers in a shootout where the very exception to the rule played out to the dismay of a team trying to climb above .500 on the road.

In all fairness, Coach Bruce Boudreau didn't know the rule either. And such a minuscule detail is hardly comparable to Donovan McNabb not knowing that NFL games could end in a tie.

But still, Theodore is an NHL goalie and he has a responsibility to know the rule book, even though there probably wasn't much he could do to stop a Ryan Callahan penalty shot that went off the cross-bar, between Theodore's skates, off his stick, and into the goal.

So once again the Caps go down on a historical night. The first being Ovechkin's 200th career goal coming in a loss to the Kings, and now Mike Green's NHL record tying seventh straight game with a goal as a defenseman.

It's a tough lesson to learn, but Theodore gets a pass ... this time.
 

Kyle Weidie also writes Truth About It and contributes to Bullets Forever, both Washington Wizards blogs. He has come to embrace the Curse O' Les Boulez.

Copyright FREEL - NBC Local Media
Contact Us