Davey Johnson Named National League Manager of the Year

So far, the Washington Nationals are 2-for-2 in Baseball Writers' Association of America offseason awards.

One day after Bryce Harper took home the National League Rookie of the Year Award, Davey Johnson earned the NL Manager of the Year Award.

The recently re-signed skipper led the Nats to an MLB-high 98 wins in his first full season as they won their first division championship and made their first postseason appearance under Johnson's watch.

Johnson won the award in a landslide, earning 23 first-place votes and 131 total points, 54 more than the Reds' Dusty Baker, who finished second. The Giants' Bruce Bochy finished third with 61 points.

This is Johnson's second managerial award this year (he won the Sporting News' award last month) and third of his career. He is the fifth manager all-time to win Manager of the Year in both the American and National Leagues.

Follow Adam on Twitter @AdamVingan and e-mail your story ideas to adamvingan (at) gmail.com.

Contact Us