Did Jose Theodore Pull a McNabb? - NBC4 Washington

Did Jose Theodore Pull a McNabb?

Caps lose on ricochet goal in shootout

    processing...

    NEWSLETTERS

    Celebrating Life After Breast Cancer
    Getty: Jim McIsaac/Staff
    Jose Theodore can claim ignorance about rule 25.2, but not next time.

    Caps Goalie Jose Theodore doesn't know all the rules, such as No. 25.2 which states, "No goal [in a shootout] can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal)" - via Capitals Insider.

    The Capitals lost a tough game on Wednesday, 5-4 to the NY Rangers in a shootout where the very exception to the rule played out to the dismay of a team trying to climb above .500 on the road.

    In all fairness, Coach Bruce Boudreau didn't know the rule either. And such a minuscule detail is hardly comparable to Donovan McNabb not knowing that NFL games could end in a tie.

    But still, Theodore is an NHL goalie and he has a responsibility to know the rule book, even though there probably wasn't much he could do to stop a Ryan Callahan penalty shot that went off the cross-bar, between Theodore's skates, off his stick, and into the goal.

    So once again the Caps go down on a historical night. The first being Ovechkin's 200th career goal coming in a loss to the Kings, and now Mike Green's NHL record tying seventh straight game with a goal as a defenseman.

    It's a tough lesson to learn, but Theodore gets a pass ... this time.
     

    Kyle Weidie also writes Truth About It and contributes to Bullets Forever, both Washington Wizards blogs. He has come to embrace the Curse O' Les Boulez.