Virginia Is Declared A Snow Disaster Area

Federal help is on the way

Getty Images

Parts of Virginia, including some D.C. suburbs, have been declared major disaster areas because of severe winter weather.

President Barack Obama made the declaration Tuesday. It covers the snowstorm from December 18-20.

The move sends federal money to the commonwealth to help with local recovery efforts.

Arlington, Culpeper, Fairfax, Prince William, Stafford and Spotsylvania counties along with Alexandria, Fairfax City, Falls Church, Manassas, Manassas Park and Staunton are among the localities getting aid.

The money can be used by the state and local governments, as well as certain non-profits, for emergency work, and the repair and replacement of facilities damaged by the storms.

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us