States in our area have "safe haven" laws, which allow a parent to surrender a child to a responsible organization without fear of prosecution. The laws are designed to protect children who might otherwise be abandoned.
However, the laws differ from state to state. Here's what the local laws say:
You can leave your unharmed baby, up to 7 days old, with emergency medical personnel or with an employee at any hospital, fire department or police department in Washington D.C.
You can leave your baby or another baby, with the mother's approval, with any responsible adult, hospital or another designated location in Maryland. The baby can only be up to 10 days old.
You can leave your baby, up to 14 days old, with an employee at any hospital emergency room or emergency medical rescue squad in Virginia.