Muriel Bowser

LaRuby May Declared Unofficial Winner of Ward 8 Council Election

D.C. election officials declared LaRuby May the unofficial winner of the race for Ward 8 on D.C. Council -- by a two-digit margin.

The latest numbers, updated on the D.C. Board of Election's web site Friday afternoon, say May won by just 79 votes over Trayon White.

White said he will ask for a recount, the Associated Press reported.

The election was April 28; a Ward 4 seat was also up for election. Brandon Todd won that race, but but Ward 8 remained too close to call until Friday, when all absentee and special ballots were counted. 

Now, two precincts in each ward will be manually audited before the election is certified. 

There were 13 candidates running to replace Marion Barry as the representative from Ward 8, including his son, Marion Christopher Barry. Christopher Barry came in 6th.

Barry died in office in November. It's been 17 years since a special election needed to be held because of a council member's death.

The Ward 4 seat was vacated when Muriel Bowser was elected mayor.

Click here for the Board of Election's current vote counts.

Contact Us