D.C. Police Announce 15 New Speed Camera Locations

D.C. Police have released a list of 15 new speed camera locations, which are set to be activated on or around Tuesday. 

Police say the 14 speed cameras and one camera that targets oversized trucks will debut Tuesday.

The speed cameras primarily target areas with posted speed limits of 25 mph and are stationed across the District, from Massachusetts Avenue northwest to Martin Luther King Avenue southeast.

Violators will get warnings for the first 30 days, but after that a violation will cost $50 for 1 to 10 mph above the limit, $100 for 11 mph to 15 mph over and up to $300 for driving in excess of 26 mph above the limit.

D.C. isn't alone in new locations for speed cameras: the Prince George’s County Police Department announced the relocation of four speed cameras.

Prince George's new speed camera locations are: the 9500 block of Annapolis Road in Lanham; the 900 block of Ray Road in Hyattsville; the 7600 block of Sheriff Road in Landover; and the 100 block of Harry S. Truman Drive in Largo.

View D.C. Adds 15 New Traffic Cameras Around City in a full screen map

  • 4600 block of Massachusetts Avenue NW, nw/b
  • 3900 block of Cathedral Avenue NW, nw/b
  • 2600 block of Wisconsin Avenue NW, s/b
  • 4600 block of Reservoir Road NW, nw/b
  • 2200 block of 18th Street NW, n/b
  • 3600 block of Georgia Avenue NW, s/b
  • 4600 block of Arkansas Avenue NW, sw/b
  • 1800 block of Monroe Street NE, w/b (Camera targets oversized trucks)
  • New York Avenue e/b at Bladensburg Road NE
  • 2200 block Rhode Island Avenue NE, ne/b
  • 3600 block of South Dakota Avenue NE, nw/b
  • 4600 block of N.H. Burroughs Avenue NE, nw/b
  • 200 block of 44th Street NE, s/b
  • 2500 block of Martin Luther King Avenue SE, n/b
  • 4200 block of 6th Street SE, s/b
Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us