“Journalism Matters” at National Press Foundation Dinner

Journalists gathered last night at the Hilton ballroom for the annual National Press Foundation awards dinner -- and to be reminded why they're still relevant during the "Why Journalism Matters"-themed event.

Notable press folks such as Committee of Concerned Journalists founder Bill Kovach, CNN's Brianna Keliar, AP's Julie Hirschfeld Davis, WaPo's Colbert I. King, The Denver Post's Mike Keefe and Paul Anger of the Detroit Free Press were among the winners at the 27th annual dinner.

The Pulitzer Center received the award on Crisis Reporting for Online Journalism. Guests were also treated to the all-journalist band "Suspicious Package," which capped off the evening.

Somewhere in between the fusilli aglio, pomadoro e peperoncino and pan-seared halibut, Keliar reminded those in attendance about the shenanigans -- posing with snakes and the like -- during their cub reporter days, but said such antics were "worth it all."

The presentation of Sol Taishoff Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism to CBS’s "60 Minutes" was preceded by a video collage down memory lane with Leslie Stahl, producer Don Hewitt, Morley Safer, Mike Wallace and Andy Rooney exemplifying their brutal investigative reporting mixed with their behind the scenes humor. 

Contact Us