School Bus Stopped With Sign Out — What Should You Do?

WASHINGTON — More drivers in Baltimore, Montgomery and Prince George’s counties are ignoring the flashing lights and stop arms on stopped school buses in greater numbers, according to data from the Maryland State Department of Education.

On a single day in the spring of this year, the data collected showed that 999 drivers ignored stopped school buses in Montgomery County — an increase of more than 100 instances from last year.

In Baltimore County, more than 1,000 drivers passed stopped school buses and in Prince George’s County, 658 drivers violated the law that requires drivers to keep back when school buses stop to let children on and off the bus.

Maryland state lawmakers had asked for the data collection. It’s still not clear why the violations had increased.

Maryland’s Department of Education says the data showed a snapshot in time, and that the violations were recorded by drivers in the state’s 23 counties and Baltimore City on a single day.

Drivers who pass a stopped school bus that has its automated stop arms out pay $125 fines. If a police officer issues the citation, the fine can be up to $570 and cost driver a three-point penalty on their license.

Find out more about this law.

The post School bus stopped with sign out — what should you do? appeared first on WTOP.

Copyright DC WTOP
Contact Us