For the WTOP Newsroom, 2017 Has Been a Winning Year

WASHINGTON — Washington’s Top News has more than a few trophies to add to its collection this year: In 2017 alone, WTOP has won 21 major journalism awards.

WTOP’s latest honors are six Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards from the Radio Television Digital News Association, honoring outstanding achievements in journalism on the air and online. (WTOP’s win in the “Overall Excellence” category was the sixth in eight years.)

The station is also among 2017’s winners of the National Association of Broadcasters’ Crystal Radio Award, which honors outstanding year-round commitment to community service.

Earlier this year, WTOP won six first-place National Headliner Awards and eight Virginia Associated Press Broadcasters trophies.

“Our team works hard every day to provide breaking news, traffic and weather, but also to push the envelope with new and innovative content we believe will appeal to our listeners and readers,” said Mike McMearty, WTOP’s director of news and programming. “It’s incredibly exciting to be recognized for both.”

(WTOP is now up for National Edward R. Murrow recognition.)

Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards won include:

Overall Excellence: WTOP

News Series: “Crumbling Capital” (Dave Dildine, Neal Augenstein, Max Smith)

Dave Dildine, Neal Augenstein, Max Smith | “Crumbling Capital”

Download audio

Feature Reporting: “Sip-n-Shop” (Kristi King)

Sports Reporting and Excellence in Sound: “Super Divas!” (Michelle Basch)


National Headliner Awards won include:

Radio Affiliated Website, First Place:

Radio Stations Newscast, All Markets, First Place: “Newscast 1/22/16 5 p.m.” (Blizzard)

Radio Stations News Series, First Place: “Crumbling Capital” (Dave Dildine, Neal Augenstein and Max Smith)

Radio Online Writing, First Place: “Crumbling Capital” (Dave Dildine, Neal Augenstein, Max Smith and Amanda Iacone)

Online Planned News, First Place: “Election 2016” ( Staff)

Sports Blog, First Place: Noah Frank,

Virginia Associated Press Broadcasters Awards won include:


Spot News: “Metro Shutdown”

Newscast: Nov. 9, 5 a.m.

Continuing News: Blizzard of 2016

Douglas Southall Freeman Award: “Crumbling Capital” (Neal Augenstein, Dave Dildine, Max Smith)

Feature or Human Interest: “Sip ‘N Shop” (Kristi King)

Individual Reporter: Max Smith

Editorial or Editorial Series: “Core Values” (Chris Core)

The post For the WTOP newsroom, 2017 has been a winning year appeared first on WTOP.

Copyright DC WTOP
Contact Us