It's Illegal for Anyone 13 and Up to Trick-or-Treat in Parts of Virginia - NBC4 Washington

It's Illegal for Anyone 13 and Up to Trick-or-Treat in Parts of Virginia

    processing...

    NEWSLETTERS

    Top 4 Reasons to Go to ZooLights
    Getty Images
    Children trick-or-treat on Halloween on Oct. 31, 2011 in Arlington, Virginia.

    Who said trick-or-treating is just for kids?

    Well, several governments in Virginia did. It's illegal for anyone 13 or older to trick-or-treat in several places in the state, including Chesapeake, Hampton and Virginia Beach.

    The Hampton Roads, Virginia, website hrScene first compiled a list of strict trick-or-treating rules in the state.

    Here are the rules:

    Kings Dominion/Madhaunter's Madhouse/Six Flags America

    Chesapeake: It’s illegal for anyone over 12 years old to go trick-or-treating, the city’s website says. The hours for trick-or-treating are 6 to8 p.m. and Chesapeake Police staff will be out making sure everyone is safe.

    Hampton: It’s illegal for anyone over 12 to go trick-or-treating, and doing so is considered a Class 4 misdemeanor, the city's website says. All trick-or-treating must stop at 8 p.m.

    James City County: Trick-or-treating must occur from 6 to 8 p.m. and is only for children 12 years old and under, the county's website says

    Newport News: It’s illegal for anyone over 12 to go trick-or-treating, and doing so is considered a Class 4 misdemeanor, the city's website says. All trick-or-treating must stop at 8 p.m.

    Norfolk: It's illegal to trick-or-treat if you are over 12 years old, and doing so is considered a Class 4 misdemeanor, the city's website says. Trick-or-treating cannot go later than 8 p.m.

    Portsmouth: It's illegal for anyone over 12 years old to trick-or-treat, and doing so is a Class 3 misdemeanor unless you are a parent accompanying a child, the city's website says. All trick-or-treating must end at 8 p.m.

    Suffolk: Halloween is designated as “Meet ‘N Treat Day,” and it is illegal for anyone older than 12 years old to go door-to-door requesting treats. The “treating” custom must end at 8 p.m. or a Class 4 misdemeanor is possible, the city's website says

    Virginia Beach: It is illegal for anyone over 12 years old to trick-or-treat. It's punishable as a Class 3 misdemeanor unless you are a parent accompanying a child. All trick-or-treating begins at dusk and ends at 8 p.m., the city's website says

    Watch NBC4 and get the latest news anytime, anywhere. Check here for TV listings.