"Zero Dark Thirty" and "Argo" Top Writers Guild Awards - NBC4 Washington

"Zero Dark Thirty" and "Argo" Top Writers Guild Awards



    Director Kathryn Bigelow and writer Mark Boal, the Oscar-winning duo behind "The Hurt Locker," team up again for this look at the hunt for Osama bin Laden, and his death at the hands of SEAL Team 6. (Published Monday, Dec. 16, 2013)

    This has been quite the awards season for "Zero Dark Thirty" and "Argo."

    After numerous nominations and a few wins, writer Mark Boal took home the Writers Guild of America award for Best Original Screenplay for the Jessica Chastain-starring film, while Ben Affleck's movie earned writer Chris Terrio the award for Best Adapted Screenplay.

    On the TV side, "Breaking Bad" won for Best TV Drama Series and the writers of "Louie" snagged Best Comedy Series, and, once again, Lena Dunham's "Girls" walked away a winner, taking home Best New TV Series. WGA Awards were announced Sunday night at JW Marriott L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles and the B.B. King Blues Club in New York City.

    2013 Oscar Predictions: Pick the Best Director!

    Oscars Sneak Peek: Governor's Ball Flowers

    [NBCAH] Oscars Sneak Peek: Governor's Ball Flowers
    Mark's Garden has been the exclusive florist for the Academy Awards Governor's Ball for 20 years, so co-owner Mark Held shows off some of the gorgeous floral arrangements for the special night. The Oscars air live February 24, 7E/4P.
    (Published Tuesday, March 4, 2014)

    Here's the complete list of winners from tonight's Writer's Guild awards:


    Original Screenplay: "Zero Dark Thirty," Written by Mark Boal

    The Stars Are Overjoyed for Their Oscar Nominations

    [NATL] The Stars Are Overjoyed for Their Oscar Nominations
    At the 2013 Critic's Choice Awards, Jessica Chastain, Helen Hunt, Sally Field and Amy Adams tell Access they are all very excited for their Oscar nominations. So, how did they find out?
    (Published Friday, Feb. 15, 2013)

    Adapted Screenplay: "Argo," Screenplay by Chris Terrio; Based on a selection from "The Master of Disguise" by Antonio J. Mendez and the Wired Magazine article "The Great Escape" by Joshuah Bearman

    Documentary Screenplay: "Searching for Sugar Man," Written by Malik Bendjelloul


    Drama Series: "Breaking Bad," Written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

    Comedy Series: "Louie," Written by Pamela Adlon, Vernon Chatman, Louis C.K.

    New Series: "Girls," Written by Judd Apatow, Lesley Arfin, Lena Dunham, Sarah Heyward, Bruce Eric Kaplan, Jenni Konner, Deborah Schoeneman, Dan Sterling

    Episodic Drama "The Other Woman" ("Mad Men"), Written by Semi Chellas and Matthew Weiner

    Did you see who got an ACM nomination?

    Episodic Comedy: "Virgin Territory" ("Modern Family"), Written by Elaine Ko

    Long Form - Original: "Hatfields & McCoys," Nights Two and Three, Teleplay by Ted Mann and Ronald Parker, Story by Bill Kerby and Ted Mann

    Long Form - Adapted: "Game Change," Written by Danny Strong, Based on the book by Mark Halperin and John Heilemann

    Animation: "Ned 'N' Edna's Blend Agenda" ("The Simpsons"), Written by Jeff Westbrook

    Comedy / Variety Series: "Portlandia," Writers: Fred Armisen, Carrie Brownstein, Karey Dornetto, Jonathan Krisel, Bill Oakley

    Comedy / Variety - Music Awards, Tributes - Specials: 66th Annual Tony Awards, Written by Dave Boone; Special Material by Paul Greenberg; Opening and Closing Songs by David Javerbaum, Adam Schlesinger; CBS

    Daytime Drama: "The Young and the Restless," Written by Amanda Beall, Jeff Beldner, Susan Dansby, Janice Ferri Esser, Jay Gibson, Scott Hamner, Marla Kanelos, Natalie Minardi Slater, Beth Milstein, Michael Montgomery, Anne Schoettle, Linda Schreiber, Sarah K. Smith, Christopher J. Whitesell, Teresa Zimmerman; CBS

    Jeremy Renner, Zoe Saldana and more celebs set to present at Independent Spirit Awards

    Children's - Episodic &Specials: "The Good Sport" ("Sesame Street"); Written by Christine Ferraro

    Children's - Long Form or Special: "Girl vs. Monster," Teleplay by Annie DeYoung and Ron McGee, Story by Annie DeYoung

    Documentary - Current Events: "Money, Power and Wall Street: Episode One" ("Frontline"), Written by Martin Smith and Marcela Gaviria

    Documentary - Other Than Current Events: "The Fabric of the Cosmos: The Illusion of Time" (Nova), Telescript by Randall MacLowry, Story by Joseph McMaster and Randall MacLowry

    News - Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin or Breaking Report: "Tragedy In Colorado: The Movie Theatre Massacre," Written by Lisa Ferri, Joel Siegel

    News - Analysis, Feature or Commentary: "The Ghost of Joe McCarthy" (Moyers &Company), Written by Bill Moyers, Michael Winship; Thirteen/ WNET


    News - Regularly Scheduled or Breaking Report: "World News This Year 2011," Written by Darren Reynolds; ABC News Radio News - Analysis, Feature or Commentary: "Dishin Digital," Written by Robert Hawley; WCBS-AM


    On-Air Promotion (Radio or Television): "Partners," Written by Dan A. Greenberger

    Television Graphic Animation: "The Oscars" ("Sunday Morning with Charles Osgood"), Animation by Bob Pook


    Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing: "Assassin's Creed III: Liberation," Scriptwriting by Richard Farrese, Jill Murray; Ubisoft


    Outstanding Achievement in Writing Original New Media: "The Compromises, Episode 1," "The Pest, Episode 3," The Snake, Episode 4," "The Bonding, Episode 6," "The Future, Episode 7/Series Finale" ("Jack in a Box"), Written by Michael Cyril Creighton; jackinaboxsite.com

    Outstanding Achievement in Writing Derivative New Media: "Hide And Seek," "Keys to the Kingdom," "The Chosen Ones," "Parting Shots" ("The Walking Dead: Cold Storage"), Written by John Esposito; amctv.com

    2013 Oscars: Must-See Best Picture Posters