In Md.'s 6th District, a Long List of Challengers - NBC4 Washington
First Read
Your first stop for politics in D.C., Maryland and Virginia

In Md.'s 6th District, a Long List of Challengers



    Maryland District 6 Primary

    News4's Chris Gordon reports on Tuesday's primaries in Maryland. (Published Tuesday, April 3, 2012)

    Voting at Northwest High School in Germantown this morning was light but steady.

    Today, both Republican and Democratic primaries will determine who will go to battle this November over a seat in Congress that has belonged to Republican Roscoe Barlett for the past 20 years.

    Seven members of his own party are challenging him in the primary. A small sampling of voters here in Germantown shows Bartlett is holding his own.

    "I voted for Bartlett," said voter Aurora Porres. "...I guess what I hear about him is what I agree with."

    Bartlett's Republican challengers include State Sen. David Brinkley, Del. Kathy Afzali, Robin Ficker, Robert Coblentz, Peter James, Joseph Krysztoforski and Brandon Rippeon.

    "I'm for Brandon because I've known him a long time, and I think he's a great candidate," said voter Adrianna Aleman.

    The Democratic state legislature had changed the 6th District map this year, dropping conservative areas and adding Democratic voters here in western Montgomery county. Some feel the map was drawn so State Sen. Rob Garagiola, the state's Democratic majority leader, would win the seat in Congress. He's endorsed by Governor O'Malley and well-known by voters here in Germantown.

    "Rob Garagiola... has experience, as opposed to an inexperienced businessman who's running against him," said voter Larry Block.

    However, Garagiola is facing stiff competition from Potomac financier John Delaney, a Democrat who is endorsed by former President Bill Clinton and the Washington Post.

    "I think [Delaney]'s a fresh, new person and I think that he would do a good job for us," said voter Denise Glover.

    The other Democratic hopefuls in the primary are Charles Bailey, Ron Little and Milad Pooran.