Four Nationals, One Oriole Up for Major Postseason Awards - NBC4 Washington
Capital Games
Covering the biggest personalities in DMV sports

Four Nationals, One Oriole Up for Major Postseason Awards



    Under the Tucson Sun
    CSN Mid-Atlantic

    Daniel Murphy, Max Scherzer, Trea Turner and Dusty Baker from the Washington Nationals are among the finalists for baseball's major postseason awards. Buck Showalter was the only candidate from the Baltimore Orioles.

    The Baseball Writers' Association of America announced the top three vote-getters in each category Monday. The honors will be announced next week on MLB Network. Voting was completed by the end of the regular season.

    Murphy, Kris Bryant of the Cubs and Corey Seager of the Dodgers are up for NL MVP. Jose Altuve of Houston, Mookie Betts of Boston and Mike Trout of the Angels are on the AL side.

    The AL Cy Young Award is between Cleveland's Corey Kluber, Boston's Rick Porcello and Detroit's Justin Verlander. In the NL, it's Cubs pitcher Jon Lester, his teammate Kyle Hendricks or Scherzer.

    Detroit's Michael Fulmer, the Yankees' Gary Sanchez and Cleveland's Tyler Naquin are finalists for AL Rookie of the Year. Turner, Seager and Dodgers teammate Kenta Maeda are on the NL side.

    Baker, Cubs Joe Maddon and Dave Roberts of the Dodgers are up for NL Manager of the Year. Showalter, Cleveland's Terry Francona and Texas' Jeff Banister are the AL candidates.