Washington Nationals Pitcher Max Scherzer Wins Second Straight Cy Young - NBC4 Washington
Capital Games
Covering the biggest personalities in DMV sports

Washington Nationals Pitcher Max Scherzer Wins Second Straight Cy Young



    Max Scherzer Wins 2nd Straight Cy Young Award

    The Nationals' Max Scherzer has been named the National League’s Cy Young Award winner for the second straight season. (Published Wednesday, Nov. 15, 2017)

    Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals coasted to his third Cy Young Award and second straight in the National League.

    Scherzer breezed past Los Angeles Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw, drawing 27 of the 30 first-place votes in balloting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

    The honor was announced Wednesday on MLB Network.

    Scherzer earned the NL honor last year with Washington and the 2013 American League prize with Detroit. He became the 10th pitcher with at least three Cy Youngs.

    Scherzer was 16-6 with a 2.51 ERA and a league-leading 268 strikeouts for the NL East champion Nationals.

    Kershaw has already won three NL Cy Youngs, and was the last pitcher to win back-to-back. He was 18-4 with a league-best 2.31 ERA and 202 strikeouts.

    Corey Kluber of the Cleveland Indians easily won his second AL Cy Young Award earlier in the day. He got 28 of the 30 first-place votes, with Boston's Chris Sale second and Luis Severino of the New York Yankees third.

    Kluber led the majors with a 2.25 ERA and his 18 wins tied for the most in baseball.

    Scherzer's teammate, Stephen Strasburg, finished third.