Capitals Announce Third Jersey Option | NBC4 Washington
Capital Games
Covering the biggest personalities in DMV sports

Capitals Announce Third Jersey Option

    processing...

    NEWSLETTERS

    The Capitals have announced that they will be adding a third jersey to the team’s gear rotation this season.

    According to the team’s release, they are taking a vintage approach to the design.

    The primary color for the uniform is white and closely resembles the team’s original jersey, worn from 1974-75 through 1994-95. The original Capitals wordmark is featured on the front of the jersey with six stars above it and five stars beneath the numbers on each sleeve.

    Former Caps captain Rod Langway modeled the alternate jersey in the pic below, and wouldn't you know it, it looks an awful lot like the ones worn by the Caps in the Winter Classic.

    Some might wonder if there was a need for a third jersey, but it seems like teams having excessive uniform options is the new standard in sports. Of course these will be available for Caps fans to purchase, so the additional revenue is certainly a good motivator for Washington to mix it up.

    If you’re one of those fans who likes to match their game jersey to the teams, here is a list of the games that will feature the throwback look.

    Saturday, Nov. 26    at Buffalo Sabres    7 p.m.
    Friday, Dec. 23    at New Jersey Devils    7 p.m.
    Wednesday, Jan. 18    at Montreal Canadiens    7:30 p.m.
    Friday, Jan. 20    at Carolina Hurricanes    7 p.m.
    Sunday, Jan. 22    at Pittsburgh Penguins    3 p.m.
    Saturday, Feb. 4    at Montreal Canadiens    2 p.m.
    Sunday, Feb. 12    at New York Rangers    3 p.m.
    Monday, Feb. 20    at Carolina Hurricanes    7:30 p.m.
    Saturday, Feb. 25    at Toronto Maple Leafs    7 p.m.
    Saturday, March 10    at Boston Bruins    1 p.m.
    Friday, March 16    at Winnipeg Jets    8:30 p.m.
    Sunday, March 18    at Chicago Blackhawks    6 p.m.
    Monday, March 19    at Detroit Red Wings    7:30 p.m.
    Thursday, March 22    at Philadelphia Flyers    7 p.m.
    Monday, April 2    at Tampa Bay Lightning    7 p.m.
    Saturday, April 7    at New York Rangers    3 p.m.


     

     

    Questions, comments or tips? Email Sarah at sarahskogod@gmail.com. You can also follow her on Twitter (@sarahschorno).